I finally figured out how to make the booklist in the format I wanted it in! Unfortunately, this means I found out how to do so at the expense of my booklist. 😦 I opened my booklist while viewing the booklist Freak0Nature sent me… And Microsoft automatically put it in a compatability mode to make sure the two documents had the same features available in Word. This meant that my list was reconfigured, and the information was scrambled. I literally had hundreds of books, so I can’t just rewrite it from memory. I’ve got some series that have 1 book instead of 6, or that have 20+ books instead of 4. I’m going to have to start from scratch, because unfortunately, I can’t simply turn off compatibility mode; it’s a conversion to the document that I don’t know how to undo. I’ve also been playing with the idea of including what I have on my bookshelves and color-marking them as read or unread, then as I write reviews for them, make them links. Sounds like a lot of work, but it would be absolutely great in my opinion… If only there was a site to do this for me!

Well, there kind of is. For those of you who haven’t discovered it yet, Goodreads.com has thousands of books on file, and you can put them on ‘shelves’ to keep track of them, and write reviews. Unfortunately, you can’t group things by series in shelves without going in and manually rearranging them, and you also cannot generate lists of shelves as plain text. Both would be fantastic features, IMHO. Another great feature I’d love to see them add is a way to Auto-arrange the books. By genre (and wouldn’t it be great if they added genres to the books instead of letting users tag the books as whatever genre they please?), alphabetically by author, alphabetically by series, however! But alas, they do not. So I am stuck with struggling through making a book list myself. 😦 And I just messed it up. I’m still open for ideas for books if you would like to share! Chances are though, I have it on my list already. 🙂

